Friday, March 19, 2010

Texas: Paper Roses by Amanda Cabot

Paper Roses (Texas Dreams Trilogy #1) Paper Roses by Amanda Cabot

The future stretches out in front of Sarah Dobbs like the pure blue Texas sky. Leaving the past behind in Philadelphia, mail-order bride Sarah arrives in San Antonio ready to greet her groom, Austin Canfield, a man she has never met but whose letters have won her heart from afar. But there is one problem--he has died. And Sarah cannot go back East. As Sarah tries to reconcile herself to a future that is drastically changed, Austin's brother, Clay, struggles with his own muddled plans. Though he dislikes working on the family ranch and longs for a different life, Clay is driven to avenge his brother's death. But something between them is growing and neither Clay nor Sarah is ready to admit it. Book 1 of the Texas Dreams series, Paper Roses will sweep readers into the Hill Country with a tale of love and loss, closed doors and beautiful possibilities that will leave them wanting more.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Scattered Petals: A Novel (Texas Dreams)In the author's letter to readers, Amanda Cabot states that she had referred to this book as the mail-order-bride-meets-Cyrano-de-Bergerac book. After reading it, I find it to be that and so much more. I initially requested this book and through confusion received it months later and it was on my back burner, but when I realized I could have the opportunity to read the sequel Scattered Petals and I had enjoyed starting this one I snatched it back up. I enjoyed getting back into the characters lives and now I am eager for the sequel.

Paper Roses is my first introduction to author Amanda Cabot, but after reading this one I definitely do not plan for it to be my last. This story of Paper Roses has the best title (and I am certain that Scattered Petals will be just as appropriate). Bringing together the elements of faith, forgiveness, vengeance, murder and madness as well as trust and child-like intuitiveness this story finds it's way into your heart and holds on. The characters are real and their plights are difficult. The mystery is woven through out and the clues kept quiet. Romance is palpable, but confusion as it is in real life.

Through out the story I could not guess what would come next, but my interest was peeked and the pages kept turning. I highly recommend this read as I am sure will recommend the entire series.

*Thanks to Revell Books for providing a copy for review.*

Amanda Cabot's website
Read an Excerpt of Paper Roses
Read an Excerpt of Scattered Petals

Scattered Petals is released as of March 1st, 2010

Buy from CBD:
733247: Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1 Paper Roses, Texas Dreams Series #1

By Amanda Cabot / Revell

Mail-order bride Sarah Dobbs arrives in Texas in 1850, only to learn that her future husband, Austin Canfield, is dead! Seeking refuge with his family, she tries to reconcile herself to an uncertain future. Will Austin's stubborn brother, Clay, spoil her happiness? Or is he the man she was looking for all along? 416 pages, softcover from Revell.
733250: Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2 Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2

By Amanda Cabot / Revell

Longing for adventure, Priscilla Morton leaves Boston and heads for Texas, never dreaming that the adventure she seeks will leave her badly injured and her parents dead. Priscilla is determined to rebuild her life and make a home for herself in the beautiful Hill Country. But the bandits who took her parents' lives also destroyed her hope for the future.Ranch foreman Zachary Webster knows what the future holds for him, and it's not a woman like Priscilla. She deserves a cultured East Coast gentleman, not a cowboy who's haunted by memories of his mistakes. The best thing he can do is leave her alone.

No comments:

Post a Comment